Select Page

The Lefler Center

for the study of Neurodegenerative Diseases

The Lefler Symposium

Every year, the entire Harvard neuroscience community gathers to celebrate the achievements of the Lefler Center. The annual symposium provides an overview of the work that Lefler fellows and faculty have accomplished in the previous year. The Edward R. and Anne G. Lefler Symposium is held at Harvard Medical School to showcase advances in the study of neurodegeneration and neurodevelopment, and to provide an opportunity for formal and informal discussion among faculty, fellows, and students.

The Symposium concludes with a keynote address delivered by an invited speaker. This address is a prestigious lectureship which includes a retrospective on a particular subject field. The roster of distinguished lecturers is set forth below.

Upcoming Lefler Symposium

November 20, 2019

Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz

Senior Group Leader, Janelia Research Campus

Click here for more information!

Previous Keynote Speakers

2018 Thomas Südhof, MD

Stanford University School of Medicine

2017 Constance Cepko, PhD 

Harvard Medical School

2016 Richard W. Tsien, PhD

NYU Neuroscience Institute

2015 Krishna V. Shenoy, PhD

Stanford University

2014 Ben Barres

Stanford University School of Medicine

2013 Jeremy Nathans, MD, PhD

Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

2012 David Ginty, PhD

Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

2011 Roberto Malinow, MD, PhD


2010 Fred H. Gage, PhD

The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

2009 Vilayanur S. Ramachandran, MD, PhD


2008 Mark F. Bear, PhD


2007 Eric Nestler, MD, PhD

UT Southwestern Medical Center

2006 10th Anniversary Celebration Symposium

Arturo Alvarez-Buylla, PhD


Christopher E. Henderson, PhD

                Columbia University

Susan McConnell, PhD

               Stanford University

Dennis Selkoe, MD

                Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Gerald Fishbach, MD

                Columbia University

2005 Susan Lindquist, PhD


2004 Robert H. Brown, Jr., MD, PhD

Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital

2003 H. Robert Horvitz, PhD


2002 Lawrence S.B. Goldstein, PhD


2001 Huda Y. Zoghbi, MD

Baylor College of Medicine

2000 Allison Doupe, MD, PhD


1999 Kenneth H. Fishbeck, MD

National Institutes of Health

1998 Stanley J. Korsmeyer

Harvard Medical School/Dana Farber Cancer Institute